The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

While waiting for my flight I popped by the little store in the airport to see what kind of books they had.  Since I had heard so much about this trilogy by Stieg Larsson, I decided to pick up the first book.  I dove right into the book on the flight and got right into it.  The flight attendant noticed I was reading it and wondered how I was liking it so far.  I told him I had just started it but it was good.  He said he was in the middle of reading it and was finding it quite disturbing.  I was a little thrown off at this because it was such a popular read.  I kept going with it and about half way through I understood exactly what he meant.  I literally picked the book up not knowing what the story line was at all.  I just didn’t think it would go where it went.  About 5/6 of the way through I still didn’t get the hype and put off finishing the book for about a week.  After finally finishing it, I can say that it was ok, but I’m not entirely convinced.  I really enjoyed the last 50 pages or so.  I normally feel this way about popular book series (ahem..twilight for example).   It takes me a while to just enjoy it for what it is and get past the hooplah. I picked up the second book last week and started it last night.  The first couple pages are equally as disturbing but past that it has been a good read.  We’ll see how it goes….

Anyone else read it? What are your thoughts?

 Synopsis:

Cases rarely come much colder than the decades-old disappearance of teen heiress Harriet Vanger from her family’s remote island retreat north of Stockholm, nor do fiction debuts hotter than this European bestseller by muckraking Swedish journalist Larsson. At once a strikingly original thriller and a vivisection of Sweden’s dirty not-so-little secrets (as suggested by its original title, Men Who Hate Women), this first of a trilogy introduces a provocatively odd couple: disgraced financial journalist Mikael Blomkvist, freshly sentenced to jail for libeling a shady businessman, and the multipierced and tattooed Lisbeth Salander, a feral but vulnerable superhacker. Hired by octogenarian industrialist Henrik Vanger, who wants to find out what happened to his beloved great-niece before he dies, the duo gradually uncover a festering morass of familial corruption–at the same time, Larsson skillfully bares some of the similar horrors that have left Salander such a marked woman. Larsson died in 2004, shortly after handing in the manuscripts for what will be his legacy. –Publishers Weekly

This entry was posted in Reading Rainbow and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

